Top architects honoured

House Cape Town. studioMAS
M Horner (designworkshop : sa) M Dlabantu (Dept of Public Works, S Ngonyama (SAIA) and J Beauchamp (designworkshop : sa) Award of Excellence for House La Lucia in Durban

The movers and shakers of the architectural world in South Africa gathered to witness the presentation of the 2015/2016 Corobrik SAIA Awards of Merit for Excellence in Architecture to the cream of the profession.

The eight winners of the awards of excellence were

  • House La Lucia in Durban submitted by designworkshop:sa;
  • the Military Health Base Depot in Tshwane designed by Jeremie Malan Architects;
  • House Waterkloof, Tshwane entered by Slee & Co Architects;
  • House Cape Town put forward by Metropolis;
  • House Cape Town designed by Seali Mahoney;
  • The Malapa Fossil Cave and Visitors Centre at the Cradle of Humankind in Gauteng by Krynauw Nel Associates’ design of the
  • Number 1 Silo: Alan Gray headquarters at the V&A Waterfront in Cape Town by Van der Merwe Miszewski Architects & Rick Brown Associates;
  • a book, Eclectic ZA Wilhelmiens, submitted by Fisher & Clarke.

Musa Shangase of Corobrik said that the developing rainbow nation that was South Africa presented unique challenges for the architectural profession which, in turn, offered opportunities for thinking out of the box and for innovative and unconventional solutions.

“Limited budgets, which often apply to public buildings that need to meet a variety of needs, can act as a catalyst for great design which is fit for purpose and complementary to the landscape,” he said.

“The inspired use of building materials is also becoming a feature of modern SA architecture and, as the leading suppliers of clay brick in this country for the past 112 years, we are delighted to be a part of this pattern.

“Our longstanding support of SAIA is a mark of our respect for the architectural profession in this country and we have every expectation that our paths will continue to be linked for many years to come.”

The keynote address at the awards dinner was given by Mziwonke Dlabantu, Director General of the national Department of Public Works.

The Corobrik-SAIA Awards are presented every two years and are open to SAIA members from all of its regions nationwide who are invited to submit entries for their best work of any kind. Regional awards are presented in the first year of the cycle and national awards in the second year.